Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of FEMSA consists of 18 Directors and is assisted by 1 Secretary (non-member) and 1 Alternate Secretary (non-member). In accordance with our bylaws and the Mexican Securities Law, at least 25% of the members of our board of directors must be independent. Directors and their specific Alternate Directors are appointed for a term of 1 year and are eligible for re-election after the completion of their term in office. The By-Laws of the Company provide that the holders of the FEMSA B Shares may elect at least eleven Directors and the holders of the FEMSA D Shares may elect five Directors.

Since 2001, José Antonio Fernández has presided as Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Current members of the Board of Directors:

Series B

Chairman of the Board of FEMSA
Elected: 2001

Alternate: Federico Reyes García
Independent Consultant
Elected: 2006

Private Investor and president of the acquisitions committee of Coleccion FEMSA
Elected: 1998
Alternate: Paulina Garza Lagüera Gonda

Private Investor
Elected: 1998

Chief Executive Officer and chairman of the board of directors of Franca Servicios, S.A. de C.V., Servicios Administrativos de Monterrey, S.A. de C.V., Regio Franca, S.A. de C.V., and Franca Industrias, S.A.
Elected: 1984

Alternate: Francisco José Calderón Rojas

Chief Executive Officer of Strategic Businesses of FEMSA
Elected: 2001

Alternate: Juan Carlos Garza Garza

Teacher at Universidad Autónoma de México
Elected: 2020

Alternate: Maximino José Michel Gonzalez

Chairman of the board of directors of the following companies which are part of Grupo BAL: Peñoles, Grupo Nacional Provincial, S.A.B., Fresnillo Plc, Grupo Palacio de Hierro, S.A.B. de C.V., Grupo Profuturo, S.A.B. de C.V. and subsidiaries, Controladora Petrobal, S.A. de C.V., Energía Bal, S.A. de C.V., Energía Eléctrica Bal, S.A. de C.V., and Tane, S.A. de C.V.; chairman of the governance board of Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México and founding member of Fundación Alberto Bailleres, A.C.
Elected: 1989

Alternate: Alejandro Bailleres Gual

Chief Executive Officer of Servicios Administrativos Contry, S.A. de C.V. 
Elected: 2004

Former Chief Executive Officer of FEMSA
Elected: 2014

Private Investor
Elected: 1999
Alternate: José Antonio Fernández Garza Lagüera

Chairman of the Board of Directors of Solfi, S.A. de C.V
Elected: 1988

Managing Director at Allen & Co. LLC
Elected: 2021

Series D

Independent Consultant
Elected: 2018

Chief Investment Officer of William H. Gates III 
Elected: 2011
Partner of Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Elected: 2001

Business consultant and managing partner at Acumen Empresarial, S.A. de C.V
Elected: 2006
Alternate: Enrique F. Senior Hernández*

Private Investor
Elected: 2006
Alternate: Francisco Zambrano Rodríguez*

Carlos Eduardo Aldrete Ancira

Alternate Secretary:
Alejandro Gil Ortiz

Note: * Indicates Independent member